These 2 IAS Officers Have Been Awarded by the Election Commission. Here’s Why!

The Election Commission of India has selected two officers for the national award for best electoral practices.

Two IAS officers who are in the news for all the rights reasons are, Vipul Ujjwal and Ravi Bhagat. The Election Commission of India has selected these two officers for the national award for best electoral practices.

In 2014 Vipul Ujwal developed an app called ‘ivote’, which provided voters with various election-related utility features like searching EPIC details, finding directions to a polling booth, information about affidavits submitted by contesting candidates, a comprehensive model code of conduct for ready reference and an easy complaint submission mechanism.

This is a one-of-its-kind application, which was approved by the Election Commission and rolled out during the Punjab elections.

Vipul Ujwal Photo Source

Vipul belongs to the 2009 batch of Punjab Cadre. Born and brought up in Bikaner, Vipul is known for his keen interest in developing apps and was also instrumental in developing an app that helps locate clean toilets in Punjab. Read about some of the innovative ideas he has implemented in his district in this article.

Ravi Bhagat, the other award winner, has striven to make use of Information and Communication Technology services for improving efficiency and effectiveness in various departments at the district level.

During his various postings, he ensured that several initiatives in the field of education, health, social, and e-governance were launched successfully.

Ravi Bhagat Photo Source

Hailing from Kutbi Nangal village near Batala, Ravi studied in Jalandhar and New Delhi and belongs to the 2006 batch of officers.

His pro-people initiatives have been appreciated as one of the best in the country. The Punjab government, Union Government as well as several other prominent organisations have praised the efforts of the district administration for this work.

Both these officers have been selected for their ‘innovative use of Information Technology’. President Ram Nath Kovind will confer the awards at a function in Delhi to mark National Voter’s Day on January 25 at Zoravar Auditorium, Manekshaw Centre, New Delhi.

You May Also Like: This IAS Officer’s Unique Initiative Deserves Your Help; Donate a Toilet Today!

Like this story? Or have something to share?
Write to us:
Connect with us on Facebook and Twitter.
NEW: Click here to get positive news on WhatsApp!

Let us know how you felt

  • love
  • like
  • inspired
  • support
  • appreciate