India has 7,349 railway stations, some of which have a rich heritage and historical significance from the British colonial era. Here are a few that have been accorded UNESCO World Heritage status.

1. Darjeeling Himalayan Railway Running between New Jalpaiguri and Darjeeling in the Indian state of West Bengal, it was built between 1879 and 1881.

A 2-feet gauge railway runs at an altitude of over 2,200 metres using six zig-zags and five loops while providing breathtaking panoramic views of the Himalayas and the nearby hills. This rail line was accorded UNESCO World Heritage Status in 1999.

Red Section Separator

2. Nilgiri Mountain Railway

Running at an elevation of 326 to 2,203 metres is a 1,000 mm metre gauge, this railway was considered to be one of the most ambitious projects of the British.

The rail runs through the beautiful mountains of Udhagamandalam (Ooty) to Mettupalayam via Coonoor offering magnificent views of the picturesque hills, lush green lands, dense forests, and narrow valleys. This rail line was accorded UNESCO World Heritage Status in 1999.

Red Section Separator

3. Kalka Shimla Railway

Summer capital for the British, Shimla needed to be connected to the rest of the country via rail. Built between 1898 and 1903, the iconic rail network offers stunning views of the Himalayan ranges.

It is also considered a specimen of the greatest narrow-gauge engineering in India. Besides, the line has over 800 small and big bridges and viaducts. Out of them, around 100 bridges were built in just three years.

Red Section Separator

4. Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus

Formerly known as Victoria Terminus Station, it was built within 10 years starting in 1878. The station is a stunning specimen of Victorian Gothic Revival architecture in India.

An amalgamation of Indian and Victorian cultures, the railway station is known for its beautiful stone dome, turrets, pointed arches and eccentric ground plan.