in ,

We Need to Give a Round of Applause to the Indian Women’s Cricket Team. Here’s Why.

On Friday, the Indian women’s cricket team recorded a historic win by defeating Australia in the second Twenty20 International. In a rain-affected match in Melbourne, the Indian team won by 10 wickets. Due to the rain, the match was reduced to 18-overs-a-side.

Captain Mithali Raj hailed the victory as ‘sensational’ and called it the best match of her T20 career.

Opting to bowl after winning the toss, the Indian side won their first ever series Down Under.

cricket women

Photo source: Twitter

With this victory, India have clinched the 3-match series against Australia (2-0).

Mithalali said to the The Hindu, “Coming into this tour, we weren’t really prepared for these Australian wickets. Other than three-four of us, who came here way back during the 2009 World Cup, nobody had played here before. Also, we hadn’t faced Australia since a warm-up one-day game in 2013. Considering all these factors, it’s a sensational win.”

India were 69 for no loss in 9.1 overs. Mithali Raj was not out on 37 runs and Smriti Mandhana was not out on 22 runs.

Partner Story
#MGChangemakers - Episode 2: THE 21-YEAR JOURNEY OF CHANGE | Driving India Into Future

Live Now #MGChangemakers Episode 2 : Touched by poverty, untouchability and atrocities against Musahar- the Mahadalit community of Bihar, Padma Shri Sudha Varghese decided to dedicate her life for their upliftment. Watch the video to learn about her inspirational journey & how she is ‘Driving India Into The Future’. #MGChangemakers powered by MG Motor India and supported by United Nations India. Show your support by donating now:

Posted by TheBetterIndia on Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Jhulan Goswami was declared the player of the match for taking two wickets in four overs.

For Autralia, Meg Lanning was the top scorer by registering 49 runs.

People took to Twitter to congratulate the team.




Like this story? Or have something to share? Write to us:, or connect with us on Facebook and Twitter (@thebetterindia).