Readers only offer: Get additional Rs 200 off on 'The Better Home' powerful natural cleaners. Shop Now
Jwala Gutta-Ashwini Ponnappa Win Canada Open. Here’s Congratulating the Duo.

Jwala Gutta-Ashwini Ponnappa Win Canada Open. Here’s Congratulating the Duo.

Ad Banner

Indian Badminton duo Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa won the nail biting final and grabbed the Canada Open title on Sunday. This was their first title after their reunion at the London Olympics, 2012.

Indian women’s double pair of Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa won the Canada Open title after defeating the Dutch pair of Eefje Muskens and Selena Piek in the Badminton final on Sunday at Calgary, Canada. In the nail-biting match, both the teams gave a good fight.

Indians dominated the second game by a 5-0 lead and then 15-6, but Muskens and Piek came back in the game with nine points in a row, bringing the game to 15-15.

However, in the end, the duo of Indian shuttlers grabbed the title with 21-19, 21-16.



This was Jwala and Ashwini’s first title since their reunion after the 2012 London Olympics. They have been training separately for some time, but they will start training again together to prepare for the World Championship scheduled in August.

The fiery duo’s consistency and hard work helped them grab a ranking of World No. 13 last week. This victory is expected to further boost their ranking.

President Pranab Mukherjee also acknowledged the feat and used Twitter to post a congratulatory message for the proud winners.


We also join the chorus in congratulating them and wishing them many more wins.

Like this story? Or have something to share? Write to us:, or connect with us on Facebook and Twitter (@thebetterindia).

Let’s be friends :)
Sign in to get free benefits
  • Get positive news daily on email
  • Join our community of positive ambassadors
  • Become a part of the positive movement
Before you go...

We have a favor to ask.

Our teams put in a lot of effort to create the content you love at The Better India.

The Better Home is a range of safe and eco-friendly home cleaners by The Better India. We put out curated content on our Instagram account- green living hacks, green innovations, leading a no-tox life and heroes in the sustainability space.

It would help us if you can follow our Instagram handle and spread the word around.