Placeholder canvas
Igniting Ideas For impact

Embarking on a transformative journey through six chapters, we traverse India's landscape, exploring pioneering startups and their revolutionary...

7 months

Kerala’s Snake-Boat Races Get IPL Makeover: Head to the Backwaters on Aug 11!

To be held in the beautiful palm-fringed waterways of Alappuzha, Kottayam and Kollam districts, Kerala Boat Race League is where tradition will meet new-age sporting style!

Kerala’s Snake-Boat Races Get IPL Makeover: Head to the Backwaters on Aug 11!

Kerala’s traditional backwater snake-boat races will get an India Premier League (IPL)-style makeover, under the aegis of the State government’s Tourism Department, reports The Hindu.

Under this initiative, the major boat races in Kerala—from the Nehru Trophy boat race in Alappuzha to the President’s Trophy in Kollam—will now come under a larger league format called the Kerala Boat Race League (KBRL). The races that are associated with religious customs will be exempt from the league.

The league will be conducted from August 11 to November 1 this year.

At the Nehru Boat Trophy on Punnamada Lake in Alappuzha on August 11, 20 snake-boats will battle it out for qualification into the league. Among the 20 snake-boats, only 9 will qualify, and these 9 snake-boat teams will then compete for over 12 races, concluding with the President Trophy’s Race in Kollam.

Considering that these snake-boat races are a significant tourist attraction, the State government plans to launch an extensive international campaign for the tournament.

League races are expected to be conducted in Punnamada, Pulinkunnu, Kainakari, Karuvatta, Mavelikara, Kayamkulam and Kottappuram in the Alappuzha district, Thazhathangadi in the Kottayam district and Kallada and Kollam in the Kollam district, according to The Hindu. Every team that manages to qualify for the league will receive a bonus of Rs 4 lakh per venue.

Nehru Trophy boat race. (Source: Kerala Tourism)
Nehru Trophy boat race. (Source: Kerala Tourism)

Those who finish in the top three in every league race will receive cash prizes ranging from Rs 1 lakh to Rs 5 lakh. Those who finish in the top three overall across the 12 races will receive cash prizes ranging from Rs 6 and 10 lakh, reports the publication. An essential criterion that all teams are required to adhere to is that 75% of team members must be natives of Kerala.

Also Read: Teams from 31 Countries Are Heading to Kerala, for a 3000-Year-Old Connection!

The tournament, meanwhile, is likely to cost the State exchequer Rs 10 crore, while the government is likely to bring in the additional Rs 5 crore, through sponsorship deals.

(Edited by Gayatri Mishra)

Like this story? Or have something to share? Write to us:, or connect with us on Facebook and Twitter.
NEW: Click here to get positive news on WhatsApp!

This story made me

  • feel inspired icon
  • more aware icon
  • better informative icon
  • do something icon

Tell Us More

We bring stories straight from the heart of India, to inspire millions and create a wave of impact. Our positive movement is growing bigger everyday, and we would love for you to join it.

Please contribute whatever you can, every little penny helps our team in bringing you more stories that support dreams and spread hope.

Support the biggest positivity movement section image Support the biggest positivity movement section image


See All
Sign in to get free benefits
  • Get positive stories daily on email
  • Join our community of positive ambassadors
  • Become a part of the positive movement