Cheque Books of These Banks Will Be Invalid Post 31 March 2018. Is Your Bank in the List?

The State Bank of India took to its social media account to remind customers about their deadline to apply for new cheque books

Time is money for the clients of a few banks in India since their chequebooks will soon be invalid. If you too are a customer of the erstwhile associate banks (e-AB) of the State Bank of India (SBI) or Bharatiya Mahila Bank (BMB), you have only a few days left to get your new chequebook issued.

31st March 2018 is the deadline given by SBI to e-ABs, to issue new chequebooks—and this day is hardly 10 days away! SBI took to Twitter for the reminder, saying:

“All customers of erstwhile Associate Banks and Bharatiya Mahila Bank are requested to apply for SBI chequebooks by 31st March 2018, to avoid any inconvenience. The old e- AB/BMB chequebooks will not be valid post 31.03.2018.”

Some of the e-ABs include the State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur, State Bank of Bikaner, State Bank of Hyderabad, State Bank of Raipur, State Bank of Travancore, and State Bank of Patiala. SBI had previously changed the names and IFSC codes of around 1300 of its branches.

Clients of the banks mentioned above, as well as those of BMB, were previously advised to apply for chequebooks with a new IFS code before 30 September 2017, which got extended to 31 December 2017. However, your latest deadline to apply for new, valid chequebooks is 31st March 2018.

In case you don’t have the time to visit the home branch of SBI, it has made your work easy. You can apply for the chequebooks via internet banking or mobile banking. You can also visit your nearest SBI ATM to do so.

Featured image source: Facebook.

Like this story? Or have something to share?
Write to us:
Connect with us on Facebook and Twitter.
NEW: Click here to get positive news on WhatsApp!